I Applaud President Obama’s Decision to Open Relations with Cuba

Diane Ravitch's blog

As readers know, I often criticize President Obama’s education policies, which are even worse than those of President George W. Bush.

But I am glad for his Supreme Court nominees, and now I am very happy that he has begun the process of normalizing relations with Cuba.

I visited Cuba as a tourist in February 2013 (yes, you can visit as a tourist if you call a tourist agent authorized to make arrangements by the U.S. State Department). Of the many people I spoke to, all were eager to see a new relationship between our countries. The people are eager for a new day. The embargo has impoverished Cuba. I flew with my friends on a charter flight from Miami to Havana. There are several every day. Once our nations have a normal relationship, it will be easier for us to travel in both directions. Cuba is a beautiful island…

View original post 39 more words

Leave a Reply

